How To ~ Apply False Nails [Ft Elegant Touch]

38514de0-0a26-4a76-8873-9039102fe0c5wallpaperI am a nail biter. There I said it! My nails are always in shocking condition. For my job my nails need to look at least half decent! After hearing all the horror stories about acrylic nails, drills, infections and just constant maintenance, I always opt for the stick ones! I guess it is just personal preference! So after the last year or so of being a falsie wearer I have picked up on a few tips I thought I would share!

Personally I always go for short or petite artificial nail. Broadway Nails do a really nice selection of shorter and longer nails. Today I used Elegant Touch. They do some really fun prints that are perfect for the Spring /Summer months!

Here are my 10 easy steps to follow!

Step 1 – Ensure you have got EVERYTHING ready.
What you need: Nails, nail glue, a file or buffer, acetone, cotton rounds and cotton buds

 

IMG_3474

Step 2 – Determine the nail size you need. Set them out ready. I have entered in a picture of how I find it easiest.
[QUICK TIP – You may not be the same size on both hands so go through each finger separately]

 

 

Step 3 – Prep your nails. Remove anything from your nails. Nail polish, old glue, dust, any moisture. If there is anything on your nails the glue will not stick properly. Now is a good time to do any cuticle work that you fancy doing! Personally I do nothing to my cuticles!

 

Step 4 – File and buff! File your nails down if they are longer than the false ones. Buff the nail surface to reduce any ridges.
[QUICK TIP – My nails last so much longer if I buffed before hand]

 

IMG_3475

Step 5 – Apply a small amount of glue to the center of the nail.
[QUICK TIP – When I say small I mean tiny! The glue will spread and if there is too much it will run and spill everywhere!]

 

 

IMG_3477Step 6 – Apply to your natural nail. Ensure you push it right back to the cuticle and hold firmly for 10 seconds
[QUICK TIP – with another finger pull the top of your skin away from the nail. It is so painful trying to pry skin away from that glue! TRUST!]
IMG_3478

Step 7 – Do the same on every nail

 

 

IMG_3479

Step 8 – Snap off the tabs. Not all falsies have these taps but they are extremely handy!
[QUICK TIP – Never twist just bend back and forth]

 

 

IMG_3480

Step 9 –  File off the tops if there is any sharp edges from the tabs.

 

 

Step 10 – Clear up any glue from around the edges with a cotton bud soaked in acetone.

ENJOY your beautiful new nails!IMG_3483

Here are the nails that I used!

4 thoughts on “How To ~ Apply False Nails [Ft Elegant Touch]

  1. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you really know what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also visit my web site =). We could have a link exchange contract between us!

Leave a Reply

