Dealing With Anxiety

gfhhSo this isn’t my usual kind of post, hope you don’t mind. I just wanted to get it out there and hopefully it will help someone with a few handy tips I’ve got or even just to let them know that there not alone.

I’ve got an anxiety disorder, there I said it! I cant tell you how hard it is for me to tell people. I have always been a “chronic worrier” since I can remember. Missing hundreds of days off school and not seeing my friends for the simple fact of being terrified for no real reason.

Many people have mental health problems due to childhood issues or traumatic experiences. I think the most frustrating part of my condition is that my childhood was brilliant. I’ve got the best parents a girl could ask for and loads of amazing friends around me.

So anyway…I don’t want to bore you with the details, i’l get on to telling you what kind of symptoms I experience on a day to day basis in everyday situations. The kind of situations that set off my anxiety are working, meeting new people, being in strange places or even sitting on a bus. Its difficult to explain, i’m not generally scared of these situations yet I experience severe anxiety.

Symptoms

There are two types of symptoms that you might feel. Psychological and physical.

Psychological

  1. Restlessness
  2. A sense of dread
  3. Feeling “on edge”
  4. Difficulty concentrating
  5. Irritability
  6. Impatience
  7. Being easily distracted

Physical

  1. Dizziness (I get this one quite frequently)
  2. Tiredness
  3. Pins and needles
  4. Irregular heartbeat
  5. Muscles aches
  6. Dry mouth
  7. Shortness of breath
  8. Sweating
  9. Stomach ache
  10. Headache
  11. Nausea
  12. Difficulty sleeping

The list really does go on. It might come as a shock to most people that the majority of the symptoms are physically and its very hard to get your head around if your actually feeling these symptoms yet there is nothing physically wrong with you that they can fix.

If you go to the doctors there are different treatments that the GP can talk to you about from different tablets to counseling and CBT (cognitive behavioral therapy). There are many of you out there who are to scared to go to the doctors or just don’t agree with medical intervention. So I’ll try and give you a few tips that I use to get through the day, let alone life!

Tips

  1. Just say yes! – It can be the hardest thing in the world but trust me you wont regret it. To other people saying yes to a night out is just..yes to a night out, but for people like me its saying yes to life!
  2. What the worst that can happen? – Think LOGICALLY in your head..whats the worst that could happen?? Honestly.. ?? Many peoples anxiety stems from fear of being rejected or not being good enough. You have to remember you are good enough. There just to silly to realise it.
  3. Break it down into stages – I do this one daily with work. All you have to do is think..”Ill just get out of bed”, “Ill just brush my teeth”, “I’ll just walk out the door” and before you know it you will be at work thinking “This isn’t so bad”.
  4. Talk to someone! – I’m lucky enough to have a REALLY supportive boyfriend. He might not get whats going through my head sometimes but a hug always helps. My parents and my sister are always there to listen if I need anything. For those of you who don’t feel comfortable talking to the people closest to you about this then you can always email me, or there is a great site that I’ll link down below.
  5. Breath! – Deep breathing is actually a really good way of relaxing yourself. Personally I breath in through my nose for 3 seconds, hold it for 2 and breath out through your mouth for 3. This helps chest pains or tightness in particular.

Tips for people wanting to support someone with anxiety

  1. Listen – Simple but affective. They don’t want you to fix it, they just need some reassurance. Women in particular.
  2. Give them space – If someone is having a anxiety or panic attack the last thing they want is you to smoother them.
  3. Understand the condition – Its hard to get your head around if you don’t have a mental condition so read up on it.The more you know about it the better you can help them.

Sorry for the really long post but I just wanted to share my story with you and let people know that there not alone. Don’t let it control your life.

Here a link to the website I mentioned earlier —-> http://anxietyforum.net/forum/forum.php

If you have reached the end thank you so much for reading it. You can email me on rachelfryer@live.com if you want a chat xxx

http://anxietyforum.net/forum/forum.php

5 thoughts on “Dealing With Anxiety

  1. Hi there I am so grateful I found your webpage, I really found you by mistake, while I
    was looking on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I am here
    now and would just like to say many thanks for a tremendous post
    and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go
    through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep
    up the awesome b.

  2. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

